Log in

Pelican Cove University

Log in

The Star Architects of the 21st Century

  • January 10, 2024
  • February 28, 2024
  • 8 sessions
  • January 10, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • January 17, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • January 24, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • January 31, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • February 07, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • February 14, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • February 21, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • February 28, 2024, 2:00 PM 3:15 PM (EST)
  • Pavilion



Course Description:   More buildings have been designed and built in the first quarter of the 21st century than were constructed in the previous two centuries. Through lectures and slides, this course will examine the work of the current star architects, from Rafael Aranda to Peter Zumthor. The work of many Pritzker Prize winners such as Richard Rogers, Norman Foster, and Renzo Piano will be discussed, as well as the rising stars. The course will examine how economics, climate change, new materials, and the computer have changed the way architects design buildings. We shall examine buildings in the U.S., Europe, the Middle East, South America, and Asia.

Location: Pavilion

Dates/Times:  Wednesdays Jan 10 to Feb 28, from 2 pm - 3:15pm.

Instructor:  Robert Cassway

 Robert Cassway is an award-winning architect who has taught at the University of Michigan and Temple University in Philadelphia. He was also a visiting lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania. He currently teaches at Ringling School of Art, Life-Long Learning Institute. He has won over two dozen, local, state, and national design awards. He has designed projects throughout the United States, Bahamas, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Great Britain.
© 2022-2023 Pelican Cove University. All Rights Reserved

Use this email if you have PCU-related questions or need technical support. We respond to most emails the same day, but you will receive a response within 24 hours of our receiving the email.

Please don’t send emails to the personal email addresses of PCU administrators.